SVOTS and Scouts: A Service Project

Skye Andrew Malone and Fr. Chad Hatfield, Chancellor/CEO of SVOTS

Six months after receiving my Life Scout advancement, I was eligible to start working on my Eagle rank, the highest linear class in Boy Scouting. From the start, I knew I wanted to do something for St Vladimir’s Seminary. For some time I have noticed an area in the front field that flooded consistently due to rain. There was also a marble bench in the area that was cracked and had much erosion. In its present state, this area was not too ideal for relaxing or quietly enjoying the environment, unless you wanted muddy feet. With the help of Fr. Chad Hatfield, whose son is an Eagle Scout, I was able to frame my ideas and develop my project.

SVOTS Plant Manager Rivera and Malone discuss the plan

Originally, I wanted to replace the bench, but realized that I needed to stop the flooding problem if the area was to be a place for people to spend quiet time. The simple idea of fixing the flooding expanded to remodeling the entire area. I knew developing a project like this would help the Church in one aspect and add even more splendor to the seminary’s beautiful campus. After serving in the Church and Scouting for more than half of my life I learned, in addition to many other things, the values of respect and coexistence in a healthy community. Hopefully, completing this project demonstrates my love for the seminary community and will inspire others in some way.

The work begins

I am very appreciative to the team of seven individuals that helped me complete the first part of the project: Scoutmaster Gustavo Gobatto, SVOTS Plant Manager Rafael Rivera, Dad Manuel Soto, Michael Bouteneff, Leonardo Gobatto, Felix Behr, and Paul Szumny. I would also like to thank my family, friends, and the seminary community for the financial support they have given me to complete this project. The second part of the project is to build two benches and secure them in a cement foundation. I expect to finish the project before the end of October. Check for an update soon!

Finishing the first part of the project

Skye Andrew Malone is a Life Scout in Yonkers Troop 4 (Westchester Putnam Boy Scout Council). He is a member of the Three Hierarchs Chapel community at SVOTS.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Reflection

6 responses to “SVOTS and Scouts: A Service Project

  1. Great work, Skye, from one Scout to another. My Eagle project involved clearing brush and building picnic tables on the grounds of the elementary school that I attended as a kid. To be able to serve in this way is a blessing, not only for the person or institution being served, but also for the ones who are serving!

    The Scout Oath, for those who don’t know it:
    “On my honor I will do my best
    To do my duty to God and my country
    and to obey the Scout Law;
    To help other people at all times;
    To keep myself physically strong,
    mentally awake, and morally straight.”

  2. Denise mcKinney

    Skye,
    Good luck you. Achieving Eagle Scout status is quite an accomplishment. We are all cheering you on. of course, having been your 7th grade math teacher, it makes me even more proud.

    Denise and Bill McKinney

  3. Tatyana Schneller

    Dear skye, You can’t imagine how proud I am of you. Keep up the great work and I look forward to you becoming an Eagle Scout. Let me know it I can be of any help. I hope you’ll be able to come to Peaks next Summer. Hope to see you before that if at all possible. Love, Aunt Tanya

  4. Anita Ross

    Skye,
    We’ve been following your progress with the scouts. As usual, you are doing a great job. From what we know of you from your grandmother, we know you have what it takes to meet the challenges you are facing. Becoming an eagle scout is an accomplishment that people feel proud of for their entire life time. It is that special. And so are you.
    Love,
    Milton and Anita Ross-Fein

  5. Marti Evanoff

    Skye – this is great work, sometimes the eagle flys high with no one observing……and sometimes the eagle soars with many watching. May you always find flying high as an eagle and with a eagle a challenging, yet rewarding adventure.

    Keep your good thoughts to help others growing and you will “FLY LIKE AN EAGLE!” Best wishes to you, Marti Evanoff

  6. Joyce

    Skye,
    What a wonderful project. So often in our lives, the simplest endeavor turns into an even greater opportunity than we could anticipate. And, as in your project, the right people are attracted to your aide. And best of all, you are the right person, too.

    Blessings and love,
    Ruth Smith and Joyce Hooks

Leave a Reply

